All Girls School


Scheduling
August 7, 2008, 10:52 am
Filed under: baby, Bubba, kindergarten, mimi, preschool, school, summer, swimming

Bubba has decided that she’d like to start school on the 18th this year. I have learned from last year’s drama not to try to push her into waiting until after Labor Day and let her start when the masses start. Technically that should be the 14th, but Dad and I are taking a solo road trip that Thursday, so she’s chosen the following Monday. This means that I have spent the past three days quickly putting together our curriculum for the year. I had most of it ready, but I wanted to look more closely at it all and make sure I wasn’t leaving out anything important. Plus, some of it I am creating myself, so that has required some research on my part. I also developed a loose schedule. It’s not something to adhere to, but a general guide that will help us stay on track to accomplishing our goals for the year.

We have been school supply shopping with the older two girls so far. There’s just something so great about $0.20 crayons. I probably should have purchased another set of drawers to hold all of the crayons and markers and paints we’ve purchased. The thing is, come next summer, we will have to scramble to find any left to use. Oh well, that’s why we stock up so heavily when they’re cheap.

Mimi should find out who her teacher and classmates are today. We’re going to a good bye party for some dear friends tonight and the house just so happens to be next to the school, so we can go look. We have a meet the teacher night on Wednesday and then school starts on Thursday. I am really hoping that she’s in AM Kindergarten so that I can take her and pick her up from her first day before we have to take off. If she’s in PM, I’ll only get to drop her off and I’ll probably cry the whole way to Utah for not getting to talk to her and hug her after her first day.

Baby begins preschool this year. She’ll go two days a week and I’ll get to be in the room one day per week. She is very excited and can’t wait to go buy her very own backpack. We go to back to school night on her birthday and then she starts after Labor Day. (as it should be, thanks Ms. K)

It’s too bad that this last full week of summer is so stormy here. We did spend three hours at the pool on Tuesday, though, so that should get us through to Sunday when we hit a water park with a bunch of friends. It’s kind of our last hurrah.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

you know i can’t wait.

: )

Comment by kristin




Leave a Reply

