All Girls School


Mental Math
February 25, 2008, 8:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Bubba and I are watching her new favorite show, My Dad is Better Than Your Dad. There was some commercial for a tire or car store on, I wasn’t paying much attention to it. She looked up from it and asked me, “You don’t have to pay for that for 5 years?!?”

I told her that I didn’t know because I wasn’t listening. She told me that the commercial had said that they said the car was free for 60 months.

I asked her how she knew that 60 months was the same as five years. Did the commercial say that?

She told me that she added it up in her head. She told me that she knew that 12 plus 12 equals 24. Then she knew that 24 plus 24 equals two less than 50. Then that two more would make it 50, plus the last ten would take it straight to 60.

I was blown away. I knew that if she tried she could add 12+12+12+12+12. But listening to her thought process and how she intuitively found the shortest way to figure it out (without knowing multiplication or division beyond some very basic steps) just made me smile and shake my head. She is such a math-minded kid.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

