All Girls School


Still sick and waiting for Spring
January 31, 2008, 10:50 pm
Filed under: garden

Just as I nurse one of the girls back to health, another wakes up with a fever. This is getting seriously old. We are trucking along with some bare minimum items, like spelling, reading and math. She’s still got a couple of illustrations to finish up for the story writing contest. Other than that, there have been a lot of naps and completely non-educational videos and some board and video games. It was actually warm enough for two days that I insisted we go to the park because we needed the fresh air and I NEEDED to get out of the house and have them run off some energy.

One thing that we have been working on is planning our garden. This will be the first year that we have ever tried to grow anything edible. I have to say that most of my previous attempts at growing anything other than children have been failures. I think we’ll be trying out square foot gardening. I am hopeful that following this technique will allow us to have a successful first growing season and inspire us to do more next year. I let the girls pick out what we are growing and they decided on tomatoes, jalapenos, spinach, cantaloupe, watermelon, zucchini, cucumbers and strawberries. Those are going to be planted in the square foot bed. I, personally, want some blueberries and found a fairly local farm to purchase from. Those will be planted in a row against the house. The last thing the girls wanted to plant was pumpkins so we can make jack-o-lanterns out of them this Halloween. Those will have a space along the fence so they can spread out a bit. When I write it all out, it sounds like a lot, but I think that the way it will be laid out will keep it manageable. (I’ll admit that the zucchini were my idea, they hate zucchini, but the rest were theirs, I swear.)  I’m excited to watch the girls raise these plants from seed to harvest and watch them delight in eating the foods that they cultivated.

But, that’s all moot if we don’t drive this illness from our house. That is my mission for the rest of the week. No more sickness.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

