All Girls School


New Year
January 2, 2008, 4:08 pm
Filed under: Bubba, holiday

We had a wonderful Christmas and New Year and Bubba has been enjoying her winter break from school. (honestly, so am I.) We have had lots of time to visit with family and friends and get things accomplished around the house. But, starting next week we’ll be back to the old grind. I thought I should make some homeschool resolutions for us.

1. Integrate more science into our daily school life. This will be much easier once Spring makes its appearance, but I have plenty of resources for engaging indoor activities since Bubba is not all that keen on reading about scientific topics in general.

2. Plan a garden with the girls. (This is an overlap to one of my personal resolutions.) The garden will be small this first year so that we don’t overwhelm ourselves, but I want the two oldest to pick one thing to plan that will be theirs to care for (with help from me, of course). It will be a learning experience for us all and I just hope things grow because I have a notoriously un-green thumb.

3. Start a photography unit with Bubba. We have an old digital camera that takes decent photos. I want to start talking about photography as an art form and give shooting assignments. Then, at the end of the school year, I want to have an open house for family and friends that showcases her work. I think we will make it informal because while she loves being the center of attention, it has to happen on her terms, not because I put her on the spot and make her talk about her work to everyone.

4. Play more games. We have so many games that will encourage lots of different skills, yet it rarely occurs to any of us to pull one out. I don’t know why that is, but I want to start doing it more and including the younger girls, too. Playing Go Fish and Crazy 8s is how Bubba learned her numbers when she was younger, but I haven’t done that with the little two.

I don’t think those goals are too difficult, just stuff that I wanted to consciously put out there so that I can refer back to it when I forget what my focus is.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

