All Girls School


‘Tis the season
December 5, 2007, 11:27 pm
Filed under: baby, Bubba, christmas, girlies, math, mimi

Here’s an outtake from our home photo shoot for this year’s Christmas card. It took four times as long as I had anticipated, but that also included updating my address book and fighting with the local store’s online uploading instrument. Here’s an outtake…

But, we’ve started the season officially. The advent calendars were broken out on Saturday and the girls have been thrilled with their little chocolates every morning. The older two love helping Baby find the correct day on hers. We’ve pulled out the book that I have been waiting for this month to read, The Best Christmas Pageant Ever. I loved this book when I was a kid and found it earlier this year, I think it was at the library’s used book sale. We’ve gotten two chapters into it and Bubba and Mimi were both listening intently. It’s a pretty short book, though, so I imagine that we’ll be through it soon.

I believe that all of our math will be about fractions this month, well, fractions and measuring. I plan on doing quite a bit of cooking with the girls. Because some people on the receiving end of these gifts do read here, I can’t lay out my plans, but it involves yummy candy and cookies. I would like to break out my lefse griddle and whip up a batch because I absolutely adore the stuff. Unfortunately, it’s really time consuming and I’m not sure I will be able to squeeze it in. That may have to be a project for the new year.

We’re going to be discussing all of the different holidays that happen this month, even Pearl Harbor Day. I don’t know that we’ll get terribly in depth on any of them unless one sparks her interest, but we’ll go over their main points. I think we’re also going to do a crash course in table manners and etiquette that she can show off at our holiday dinners.

The whole weather unit was a bit of a bust. It didn’t interest her the way she thought it would, so we finally just returned the books. Maybe in the spring when we are constantly under a tornado warning she’ll have some more interest in the clouds and such.

We spent a long drive home in the car singing all of the Christmas carols that we could remember (and butchering the ones that we were a little fuzzy on). Pretty soon they’ll print a map in the paper of all of the highly decorated neighborhoods and we’ll load up on hot chocolates with whipped cream and cruise around looking at the lights. We did it last year and hope to continue the tradition from now on.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

now that is a tradition i want to start this year…bring it on.

Comment by the neufeld epp family




Leave a comment