All Girls School


Chores
August 23, 2007, 12:48 pm
Filed under: girlies

I’m trying to decide if chores should be incorporated as part of the curriculum or if they should just become a more regular part of our daily routine. I see pros and cons to both ways, but regardless, it needs to happen. That and a big ol’ purge of crap. We have wonderful family that love to spoil the girls and many have passed down their old (like-new, mostly) toys for the girls. All of that, on top of birthdays, Christmas and other random treats, leads to a whole lot of stuff. I did go through a lot of old toys and clothes in the spring and I called the local Domestic Abuse shelter. They only take donations on the third Saturday of the month and it involved calling quite a few people. I was also told that there was a chance nobody would show up to open the storage unit any way. I was a little frustrated at the difficulty involved in donating to them. Plus, we have consistently had plans for the third Saturday of the month since then. Hopefully, I can get through the rest of it before the third Saturday in September and then I can take it all. (Of course, that will likely be the day of Bubba’s birthday party, but we should be able to make a drop-off run in the morning.) Plus, I want the girls involved in the giving/donation process.

I attended orientation for Mimi’s preschool yesterday. I will be the assistant teacher in her preschool class for the coming year. I am excited about it and I think Mimi is, too. Time will tell. I love the director/head teacher and the way they integrate the young kids with the elderly folks that live in the main part of the building. I had to go get a TB test yesterday per the State’s requirements for working with kids. That was fun. Good thing needles don’t bother me. We also had to go over signs of child abuse and neglect, which is always difficult. Mimi starts her school the same day that we start homeschooling here.

Some day I will have real homeschool stuff to write about here instead of just the prep and random things that come up. I’m really excited for it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

